Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have a manual for my car that I often flipped through when the car was brand new to make sure everything ran smooth.  Years later I realized that the manual became something I only looked at when something went wrong with my car.  This is probably not the best use of the manual.   I suppose the worst case scenario would be that if I do not take care of my car I will have to come up with the money to buy another one.  Come to think about it, that might not be so bad; besides the money, I like the smell and the look of a new car.

But there are something’s in life that are not so easily replaced.  While we can replace a broken down car or even rebuild a broken down house, it is not so easy to rebuild a broken down home.   I still have the blue prints for my house that was built in the 1940’s.  I suppose if it burnt down I would be able to rebuild it using those plans, but how about the occupants, my wife and children?  There are so many forces in society that are tearing down the values and the relational stability of the family.  If the home is endangered than society is endangered, because society is just a compilation of several homes.  Is there a blue print that can assist in the rebuilding of the family, the home?  I suggest there is such a manual I have discovered that it is the Word of God. I believe this is why the bible says “Unless the LORD builds the house, they labor in vain that build it: unless the LORD watches over the city, the watchman stands guard in vain” Psalms 127:1.   Whatever we attempt to do to fix the society (the city) it will not work unless we rebuild the foundation of society, which is the home.

For me, not being a handy man I often will rely not only on the Bible but God Himself through the person of the Holy Spirit, to both interpret what the manual says but also let Him do the work in me, through me, and throughout my home.   This blog is dedicated to the rebuilding of the family; a revelation of God’s mandate to “Build the House”.  

